Quantcast

In sudden crackdown, Netflix has begun restricting the ability to password share your account

Advertisements
Share On Social Media
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Many people by now have probably discovered that you now receive a weird warning on Netflix if you’ve ever password shared. This week the company confirmed that their testing a new protocol that would otherwise require users to verify that they’re the account holders.

That verification of course would actually come from the holders registered phone number which would make it difficult for some to get the code. If you are still using your exes account, you can kiss that method a sweet goodbye on its way out the door.

The move largely appears, according to Netflix, to be a verification thing to confirm that accounts aren’t compromised. While that may be true, however, the move appears to be cutting into password sharing.

Password sharing is a common thing among friends; roommates, and even more common among family members. It is unclear when the feature will entirely roll out — although judging by Twitter tons have already seen it.


Share On Social Media
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
See also  SAG-AFTRA and NETFLIX

Leave a Reply

Skip to content